Review: Pieces of Eight by Whitney Barbetti (Mad Love #2)

Note: This ARC was provided by the author via Foreword PR & Marketing in exchange for an honest review.

"I hate you and I love you in the same breath, and I'm not sure what to do about that."

Let me start this review off by bringing up the classic adage of pictures saying a thousand words because when  you compare the covers for the Mad Love duet, they speak volumes and still there is so much story to tell once you proverbially crack both books open. Six Feet Under portrays a Mira with both desperation and vulnerability, driven by her need for the next hit and cut overwhelming every other want she may have. With the cover for Pieces of Eight, however, is a more put-together version of her although there is still a semblance of vulnerability underlying that more placid veneer. I stared at the cover for a good few minutes and knew that I simply needed to see exactly how far Mira in particular and her love story with Six in general would evolve and become the people I met in author Whitney Barbetti's earlier novels, particularly in the He Found Me series and Ten Below Zero standalone.

Mira and Six went their separate ways, and while Mira has made strides with her life since then, when she sees Six once again, it's clear that he's moved on as well. It's in that moment that Mira realizes that you can hate one person while still loving them. Here's the thing with this erstwhile couple: they needed to go through a whole bunch of hoops before they were able to find that one path that would lead them, ultimately, to happiness and peace. The love part was a given because these two had the kind of love that neither one would ever get over no matter who they may have been with that wasn't the other. Now, I'm not going to be divulging any details about what happens in this duet ender, but I will need to remind you that you must read Six Feet Under before diving into Pieces of Eight. Neither one is an easy or light read, but both are oh-so-worth the time and effort. Five-plus stars. ♥


Read my reviews for the Mad Love series:

Six Feet Under (book one) - five-plus stars - My Review

Pieces of Eight (book two) - stars - My Review (posted above)


Release Date: 09 May 2018

Date Read: 09 May 2018

Learn more about Whitney Barbetti.

Purchase Pieces of Eight on Amazon.


Popular posts from this blog

Book Spotlight: Wake Up Call by JL Merrow

Review: Any Given Lifetime by Leta Blake

Review: Fool's Paradise by Lilliana Anderson (Cartwright Brothers #5)