Review: Southern Comfort by Natasha Madison (Southern #2)

Note: An advanced reader copy (ARC) was provided by the author via Wildfire Marketing Solutions.

Two books in and Natasha Madison’s Southern series has ramped things up! Southern Comfort picks up where the cliffhanger ending in the last chapter (not the epilogues!) of Southern Chance left off. Olivia Young’s stay in her best friend’s hometown was supposed to be temporary. She needed to get away from all the trouble her ex-fiancé brought to her doorstep, but she didn’t just find solace in a place far from her place in California—she found the feeling of family, a semblance of what home would feel like, and a cowboy who causes butterflies to flutter about in her stomach. But Casey Barnes is more than a former rodeo star turned farmer. He wants to protect Olivia from anyone who dares do her harm, but once the danger is gone, what could a simple country boy like him ever have to offer a glamorous city girl like her?

I loved how Natasha Madison brought together the elements of romance and suspense in this second Southern novel of hers. Yes, it’s still heavier on the romance than the suspense, but the latter is enough to provide enough of a tension-filled atmosphere that made for a more exciting read. I also liked the relationship between the main characters, with both Casey and Olivia having more to them in terms of their back story than meets the eye. For such successful people, they had their share of insecurities, which was the biggest hurdle to their happily-ever-after, but I’m happy to say that there wasn’t any prolonged drama or conflict as far as their romance went. Now, you could try and read this as a standalone; however, the first three novels are interconnected, enough that I feel it’s better if you read the series in order. That being said, just like in book one, while there is a cliffhanger that leads into the upcoming third book, Olivia and Casey do get their happily-ever-after here through the epilogues. Southern Comfort garners 4.5 stars. ♥


Read my reviews for the Southern series:

Southern Chance (book one) - four stars - My Review

Southern Comfort (book two) - 4.5 stars - My Review (posted above)


Release Date: 14 April 2020

Date Read: 11 April 2020

Learn more about Natasha Madison.

Purchase Southern Comfort on Amazon | Apple Books | B&N | Kobo.


Popular posts from this blog

Book Spotlight: Cherry Pie by Samantha Kane

Review: Underneath the Sycamore Tree by B. Celeste

Book Spotlight: Surrender at the Border by Risa Leigh