Review: Tattered by Melody Anne (Torn #2)

Note: An advanced reader copy (ARC) was provided by the author via Give Me Books Promotions.

Tattered is the second book in the Torn series written by Melody Anne and this time around, readers get to see things from the perspective of Mason Kendrick, husband to Miranda, the wife who cheated on him with Kaden Alexander. It does, after all, take two to make a marriage work, and the same goes for it to fall apart. The first book, Torn, basically tells Miranda's story and how her marriage was on the rocks and how she met another man and had an affair with him. I'm going to highly suggest that the books be read in order so as to have a better understanding of what exactly Mason is discussing from his side of the aisle, and it is, indeed, a unique while not always pleasant nor endearing perspective. Think of this as a companion novella--it's a little over half the length of its predecessor.

I'm always one for getting the side of all parties in a story such as the one that the three pivotal characters participate in. We already had Miranda's take, and now we get Mason's; hopefully we get Kaden's somewhere down the line, but you never know. Mason isn't exactly the easiest person to like, and well, sorry to say, till the very end of this book, I simply didn't get to that point. Speaking of points, I'm not entirely sure if this was meant to simply allow readers to have an understanding of sorts of Mason's thought process or to somehow maybe encourage some amount of empathy his way, but neither was happening for me. While I appreciate the effort the author put into this--and her writing truly is commendable--I was left feeling apathetic. Three stars go to Tattered. ♥


Read my reviews for the Torn series:

Torn (book one) - four stars - My Review

Tattered (book two) - three stars - My Review (posted above)


Release Date: 21 August 2018

Date Read: 18 August 2018

Learn more about Melody Anne.

Purchase Tattered on Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo.


Popular posts from this blog

Surprise Release Blitz: All Wrapped Up for the Holidays by Various Authors

Cover Reveal: Scandalous by L.J. Shen

Review: Fool's Paradise by Lilliana Anderson (Cartwright Brothers #5)